Friday, July 6, 2007

Wherefore art thou RSS? Sidekick 3 vs iPhone

RSS (along with IM) has to be the killer app for mobile. And yet neither of my fancy tech phones has an RSS reader. WTF??

I may be one of those rare birds that currently owns both a Sidekick 3 and an iPhone. The circumstances around this are convoluted, but it gives me a unique perspective on how the two phones are different and how they are the same.

I have lots to say about this in later posts, but only a minute now. So here's my rant on the list of high priority features that I sorely need on the iPhone in order to keep it.

- Better email management. More specifically, a way to delete multiple emails at once or purge the whole mailbox. I get hundreds of emails a day and deleting every spam one by one is tedious. Having to do it with two clicks or more is downright mindnumbing. Makes me want to throw that gorgeous screen into the street.
- RSS (see above). Snippets of news? Quick reading that's easy to consume and carry around? Nah. I wouldn't want that on a mobile device. < / sarcasm >
- IM (see above.) I think this is the best app on the Sidekick--which supports YIM, IM and MSN by the way and has the best keyboard in the business--and the lack of even an iChat client is surprising. I have to think it will be remedied asap.

Not a requirement, but a duh: More ringtones on the iPhone! My music as ringtones! It's a music player people.

Finally, my iPhone crashes. A lot. It fails gracefully, just going back to the main screen, so that I almost didn't notice until it started happening within 30 seconds of starting any application besides phone. I've done a hard restart but it still happens, if a little less often. Seems to be particularly unhappy with resizing browser and email. (FYI folks--hard restart is hold the home button and the sleep button until the apple screen comes up.)

It's a good thing this thing is so effing beautiful.

Oh and T-Mobile? Are you listening? Let me repeat again--RSS! Say it back with me--RSS.

More later.

UPDATE: It was just pointed out to me that my post might be biased and that besides saying how pretty it is (have I said how pretty it is?? :) I didn't say anything else good about the iPhone. Believe me, there are things great about it. But I was just checking out Gavin's post on the activation process and wanted to say this. It truly was the best cell phone buying experience EVER. Including the 30+ minute wait in line. Activation over the Web was simple, clean and (for me) instantaneous. I put in my AT&T number + password and my iTunes password and boom. It just worked.

If I have my way I am never going to buy a phone from a cell phone store again. Never.

No comments: